Showing Collections: 26 - 50 of 756
Ayres Papers
B. Davenport & Co. Ledger
Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.
Baird Family Papers
J. Baker Account Book
Account book, 1820-1821, of J. Baker, a lawyer who practiced in Berkeley County, W. Va., Morgan County, W. Va., and Jefferson County, W. Va.
Alexander Balmaine Memorandum Book
Photostat copy of the memorandum book, 1775-1820, of Alexander Balmaine, clergyman, of Christ Church, Winchester, Va. which contains lists of church members, baptisms, marriages, and deaths in Winchester and vicinity. It also includes scattered accounts and correspondence.
Bank of Alexandria Checkbook
Checkbook, 1803-1804, of an unidentified person in account with the Bank of Alexandria, Va.
Florence Barber Diary
Philip L. Barbour Papers
Barker-Cooke Papers
Letters and business papers, chiefly 1848-1866, of James E. Cooke of Powhatan, Virginia and the Barker family of Fluvanna County, Virginia. Includes letters relating to the hiring out of slaves, plantation operations and the Civil War. Civil War letters are between John H. Barker and Henry J. Dobbs of the 18th Virginia Regiment of the Confederate army concerning the Battle of First Bull Run/Manassas.
Martha Barksdale Papers
Baron de Watergeul Boom Letter
Letter written on December 4, 1781 from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania by Baron de Watergeul Boom to "Mon Cher Ami" concerning celebration on board French ship after Yorktown Campaign. He writes poetry about the party, particularly talking of bachelorhood. Baron de Watergeul Boom may be a pseudonym. Includes poem with classical allusion which is annotated. Original letter is written in French, but English transcription is included.
Barraud Family Papers
John Bartram Journal Transcript
Typed carbon transcript from a draft of John Bartram's journal of a trip to Maryland and Virginia in 1738. Note on transcript "most important, never published in full, EGS." EGS is Earl Gregg Swem. Another note states, "the journey of 1738, which is outlined in [William] Darlington, letter to [Peter] Collinson, December 1738. See 'Brothers of the Spade' [by E.G. Swem]." Includes notes and correspondence on John Bartram by Earl Gregg Swem in 1926.
Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records
Batesville Printing Company Records
Baytop-Fitzhugh Papers
John L. Beard Ledger
Ledger of John L. Beard, cabinetmaker of Middlebrook, Augusta Co., Va. which includes formulas and directions for the making of glue and wood finishes; and contains measurements for certain pieces of furniture. Beard also made coffins. The volume contains minutes of the Nestorian Debating Society. 71 p. : bound volume ; 31 cm.
See also John L. Beard Daybook (Mss. MsV Ac1).
Beard Papers
Papers (including correspondence) of Eva V. Beard, Nannie S. Beard, and John Link Beard of Augusta County, Virginia. Includes letter, 1843, of J. E. Carnes describing a trip by land and river boat from Augusta County, Virginiaa. to Licking County, Ohio (describing Virginia, West Virginia, and Ohio, particularly Cincinnati); a portion of John L. Beard's account book, 1834-1865, listing coffins made; and an order for exchange of Civil War prisoners at Richmond.
Beatrice E. Smither Diary
A 271 page dairy written by Beatrice E. Smither, a young woman working at the law firm Williams and Mullen in Richmond, VA. Over the year of 1925, Smither writes about a variety of topics including work, civic and church clubs, politics, family, friends, as well as her romances with two separate men, Cy and George.
A large majority of the diary is written in longhand, but there are some passages in shorthand as well.
Content warning for mentions of alcholism.
Bedinger & Forman Journal and Ledger
Journal and ledger, 1817-1820, of Bedinger & Forman, millers, Berkeley County, Va. [W. Va.] which contains grist mill accounts, 1817-1820, and includes a copy of the constitution, 1850, of the Altonian Debating Society and minutes of the meetings.
Bell Hospital Records
Business ledgers of receipts and expenditures for Dr. Baxter I. Bell for Bell Hospital in Williamsburg, Virginia and one folder of loose business papers (25 items). 1926 to 1970. (Acc. 1995.61 and 1999.11)